Free Case Evaluation | Available 24/7

(216) 533-9533

Sex Offender Registration: Classification Tiers in Ohio

April 14, 2016 | Written by Dan Margolis

The laws regarding registering as a sex offender in Ohio vary depending on many different factors. The main determining factors include the crime for which a person was found guilty, the ages of the victim and perpetrator, and the classification of the criminal offense.

According to the Ohio Chapter 2950 code, the definition of a sex offender is one who has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a sexually orientated offense that involves a delinquent child. If the sex was consensual, the victim is 13 years or older and the person was not more than four years older than the child, then the alleged perpetrator may not be considered a sex offender. The same may apply when the victim was 18 and older and the alleged perpetrator was not custodian of the victim.

The classification for those convicted of a sex crime used to be sexually orientated offender, habitual offender or sexual predator. After an amendment known as the Adam Walsh Act, the classification uses a three-tiered designation, according to the Franklin County Ohio Sheriff. Each tier has its own regular time period during which the sex offender must register with the local law enforcement. Additionally, they must also register when they enroll in school, switch jobs or move. The third tier is reserved for the more severe sex crimes, including kidnapping a minor with sexual motivation, rape, sexual battery, murder with sexual motivation and any sexual offense by someone already classified as a tier II sex offender. For the rest of their lives, those classified as tier III sex offenders must register every 90 days.

The second tier includes kidnapping with sexual motivation, selling child pornography, forcing prostitution or any secondary offense by a tier I sex offender. Under this tier, a person is required to register for 25 years in increments of every 180 days. The first tier of sex offenders includes those who plead guilty to or are convicted of child enticement with sexual motivation, voyeurism, creation of child pornography, sexual imposition or sexual conduct with a minor unless consensual and importuning. Those convicted of or found guilty of a tier I sex crime must register with law enforcement for a period of 15 years at yearly intervals.

Attorney Margolis is not currently providing free consultations nor accepting new clients. Please be advised that contact form submissions and calls may not be returned.
+